Flood Tests

Hello, readers!

It has been a little while since my last update but I promise there hasn’t been much of a change since then. I have just been counting down the days and working/beekeeping. Unfortunately, work is winding down (for me at least), I only have a few more weeks until I have to stop working at the ag center. In this post, I will just provide a quick update on our progress at the ag center and next week I will do a beekeeping update.

Yesterday we planted our last soybean tests!  These tests were planted using a stomp planter rather than on the tractor. While this was a tedious process, it was definitely one of my favorite tests that we’ve planted. Once the beans sprout we will build berms around them and then flood them. The tests are composed of wild and commercial seeds and seek to find flood resistance. As for our other tests, they are coming along really well and I am so fortunate to be a part of such a smooth team, we work really well together. In my opinion, one of the best parts of working in agriculture is being outside. Although it can be hot, humid, and sometimes unpleasant, being a direct part of growing plants makes up for it. The process for planting these tests was fairly simple; insert the planter into the ground at the proper depth, push forward to move the dirt, put the seed in the planter, ‘stomp’ the dirt over the seeds and you’re done! Here are some planting pictures:

 

Each plot has a stake with a corresponding plot number and an envelope with a certain variety of seed.

 

Step 1: Punching the planter into the soil
Step 3: Covering the dirt via a couple ‘stomps’ (Couldn’t show step two since it required both hands) 
A completed field!

I cease work at the ag center on July 12th. While I don’t want to finish just yet, it allows me time to travel. I have a few trips planned to go see as many friends and family as I possibly can. I will be going to San Antonio, Washington, Kansas City, Iowa, and Chicago/South Bend. My last three months will be a whirlwind but it will be so nice to see friends from all over and my dear family members. If I’m going to be somewhere near you and you want to hang out, just let me know!

 

As for Peace Corps related information, it is just a waiting game. I’m still awaiting medical clearance but I’m not too worried as of right now. From what I understand, the medical office is short staffed and volunteers leaving to other locations before our group (obviously) have priority over us. I have been purchasing supplies and maintaining a packing list. On our cohort’s Facebook page, the questions about service are coming fast and they are getting more serious. Three months might seem like a long time but I am aware of how fast time flies and I think the reality of it all is becoming more apparent to me and my fellow future PCVs.

Next week I will provide a beekeeping update after we transfer some wild bees that swarmed in a shed at the Ransom farm to beehive boxes.

Until next time!

-Chris

Leave a Reply

